Showa TAC SFF Air Pressure issues

tdshirley34

PR Member
So I bought a 2017 Kx450f. I'm a NOOB to the Air Forks, coming off Yamaha's all my life.
I'm trying to figure out the SFF's, but my Air pressure seems to be bouncing around.
For instance,
I set my INNER = 175psi
Outer = 5psi
Balance = 180psi
But the next time I check, I have 150 inner, 5 outer, 210 balance.
Or, I've seen 180 inner, 5 outer, 150 balance.
Is there any way my Balance Chamber would leak into the Inner Chamber, or vice versa?

I'm thinking about doing the SKF Stiction Upgrade and Race Tech Valving @ 5hrs on the bike, just to get the Forks opened up and inspected.
I'm also thinking about doing PR2 Hybrid Upgrade
Any input would be appreciated...

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

Last edited:
Welcome to the struggle of air forks.

Yes, both chambers can leak either way and out to the atmosphere.

I recommend switching over to the spring conversion now and live a happy life!

Welcome to the struggle of air forks.

Yes, both chambers can leak either way and out to the atmosphere.

I recommend switching over to the spring conversion now and live a happy life!
I do like the idea of the air fork.
I don't like the initial hit, or the leaking chambers...

I do like the idea of the air fork.
I don't like the initial hit, or the leaking chambers...

I currently have the SKF kit in a crf 250. In my experience the air leak/oil leak problem got worse and the action of the fork is not so much better that it justifies the cost.

I know a few others that have switched the green bikes over to the skf kit with better results than mine but they still say the same about the cost verses the action of the fork.

I currently have the SKF kit in a crf 250. In my experience the air leak/oil leak problem got worse and the action of the fork is not so much better that it justifies the cost.