KTM 50 Advice

DC817

PR Addict
I’m in the market for a used KTM/Husky/GasGas 50 for my daughter. She’s ready to graduate from her PW but not trying to spend 5k on a new one because she’s 8 and could only race it for a year. Would just go to a 65 but she’s vertically challenged like her dad.

I see used ones going for between 2-3k but hours are typically 50-100ish. I’ve always heard these 50s are a headache so any advice on what to look out for? Is buying one closer to 100 hours just going to nickel and dime me to death?

Appreciate any input. I’m new to this mini dad stuff haha

Is she racing? If she is and isn't running up front where it's the bike holding her back, or if she isn't racing. I would skip the 50 and get a kx65. I've seen them lowered so it would help with her height. Would be cheaper, be able to be ridden longer and is pretty bullet proof.
Yes any 50 is maintenance intensive to keep running at peak performance, and parts aren't cheap.
You will be changing oil after every ride, the auto clutches are wear items that need adjusted and replaced often is she isn't full throttle all the time.

Yeah...knowing what you are getting into definitely helps. The problem is you don't until you do. That said, if I knew then what I know now, our 50 trials and tribulations wouldn't have been so tough. In the end, get one with an IRP Triple Clutch if you can. Will just save the clutch headache. You can always buy one if you find a good deal on one without the IRP clutch. And yes, change the oil often. I don't think you have to every ride, but you do before you cook the tranny oil. At first change it often (every ride, every other, etc.), then you'll know how long you can get out of it. Will depend a lot on how wide open you little one rides it. Another fantastic benefit of this clutch is the way it engages. A lot more predicable and easier to ride. A must have #1 IMO.