New (to me) bike time- looking for feedback

tj131

PR Member
I posted similar thread on vital, no help over there.

Short and sweet. I loved the 2019.5 FC RE chassis/handling.

Looking at a 2022 standard KTM 450 with low hours. Also found a low hour 23.5 FC450 RE in my price range. Anyone rode both, had both or even just the new gen Rockstar/Factory edition 450. Hell even the 22.5 is similar enough. Not a fan of the weight gain from previous gen.

Currently have rode a 2018 yz450f since I bought it new in 2018, just ready for a change. Thanks for any feedback!

Consider the new gen yam. I loved mine. I have no experience with newer gen Austrian 450s. The deals can be had on kx's (sr too) as well.

Consider the new gen yam. I loved mine. I have no experience with newer gen Austrian 450s. The deals can be had on kx's (sr too) as well.

I thought for sure that would be my next bike. I got a chance to just putt around on a 23 and it felt a mile tall to me. I'm barely 5'10, or was lol. Did you notice the height at all?

I did notice it felt a little tall while in the pits. I heard putting a link on the rear does good for that. The different seat shape i feel like played a role in that feel too. I didn't notice it at all while on the track tho.

Not rocket science! Ergonomics is the most important. How you feel sitting on the bike. Period! Everything else is fixable to the rider. You will never find a bike off the showroom floor perfect for everything you’re looking for. Motor, suspension, grips, tires etc.

Not rocket science! Ergonomics is the most important. How you feel sitting on the bike. Period! Everything else is fixable to the rider. You will never find a bike off the showroom floor perfect for everything you’re looking for. Motor, suspension, grips, tires etc.
I can't say I 100% agree personally. Maybe with enough $$ invested. I'd put chassis at the top of my list. I'm also not a tinkerer. I might throw a slip on a bike and a few clickers from time to time.